Alex Pereira (James Law/GLORY)

GLORY 58 in Chicago Adds Alex Pereira vs. Simon Marcus Title Rematch

GLORY Kickboxing’s return to the Windy City has its headliner.

Today the promotion revealed that middleweight champion Alex Pereira will rematch the man he defeated to capture the belt, Simon Marcus, at GLORY 58: Chicago. The event takes place from the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Ill., on Friday, Sept. 14.

The pair met previously at GLORY 46 in Guangzhou, China. After five rounds, it was the Brazilian Pereira who took home a unanimous decision victory and the belt. Pereira is riding high after back-to-back title defenses against Yousri Belgaroui, the latter of which came via highlight-reel, first-round knockout. Marcus has rebounded from his title defeat, demolishing Zack Wells at GLORY 52 and besting former champion Jason Wilnis at GLORY 56 in Denver to earn another shot at gold.


The GLORY 58 main card also features a heavyweight clash between multiple-time title challenger Benjamin Adegbuyi and veteran Jahfarr Wilnis.

The SuperFight Series portion of the event is highlighted by another heavyweight tilt, as Junior Tafa meets Haze Wilson. A four-man welterweight tournament will also take place on the UFC Fight Pass-broadcast card.

GLORY 58 kicks off with a preliminary card streaming live on the promotion’s YouTube channel, Facebook page and Pluto TV 215 at 6:45 p.m. ET. The SuperFight Series will stream live on UFC Fight Pass at 8:30 p.m. ET. The main card, including the Pereira-Marcus title match-up airs live at 10:30 p.m. ET on ESPN3.

GLORY 58 Fight Card
Alex Pereira vs. Simon Marcus – for middleweight title
Benjamin Adegbuyi vs. Jahfarr Wilnis
Richard Abraham vs. Omari Boyd
Alan Scheinson vs. Mailk Watson-Smith
Anvar Boynazarov vs. Bailey Sugden
Junior Tafa vs. Haze Wilson
Matt Baker vs. Thomas Jenkins
Casey Greene vs. Troy Jones – welterweight tournament semifinal
Mike Lemaire vs. Omar Moreno – welterweight tournament semifinal
Justin Moss vs. Paul Banasiak
Nick Chasteen vs. John Morehouse
Trevor Ragin vs. Lorawnt-t Nelson
Abraham Vidales vs. Niko Tsigaras