On Thursday, Dec. 29, Rizin Fighting Federation returned to the Saitama Super Arena in Japan for the Rizin Fighting World Grand Prix 2016: 2nd Round.

The event was headlined by the second round of the promotion’s open weight tournament. In the top-billing, former Pride open weight grand prix winner Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic took on 2015 Rizin tournament winner Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal. Joining the two veterans were six additional fighters as Baruto squared off with Tsuyoshi Kosaka, Amir Aliakbari faced UFC veteran Heath Herring, and Valentin Moldavsky met Szymon Bajor.

In addition to the tournament match-ups, the card also featured kickboxing legend Andy Souwer, as well as UFC veterans Daron Cruickshank and Rin Nakai.

The event aired live at 1 a.m. ET on Combat Press.

Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic def. Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal by TKO (punches). Round 2, 1:41 – open weight grand prix quarterfinal
Baruto def. Tsuyoshi Kosaka by unanimous decision – open weight grand prix quarterfinal
Amir Aliakbari def. Heath Herring by unanimous decision – open weight grand prix quarterfinal
Valentin Moldavsky def. Szymon Bajor by unanimous decision – open weight grand prix quarterfinal
Rin Nakai def. Kanako Murata by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 1:16
Tenshin Nasukawa def. Nikita Sapun by TKO (punches). Round 1, 2:45
Kazuyuki Miyata def. Andy Souwer by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:39
Yuki Motoya def. Allan Nascimento by split decision
Tatsumitsu Wada def. Kai Kara-France by unanimous decision
Yusuke Yachi def. Mario Sismundo by knockout (knee to body). Round 1, 0:18
Alyssa Garcia def. Kanna Asakura by unanimous decision
Vadim Nemkov def. Alison Vicente by knockout (ground and pound). Round 1, 0:54 – open weight grand prix reserve bout
Satoru Kitaoka def. Daron Cruickshank by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 8:18