Artem Vakhitov (Karim de la Plaine/GLORY)

GLORY 35 Nice Results: Vakhitov Stops Mwekassa, Adegbuyi Captures Another Tournament

On Saturday, Nov. 5, GLORY kickboxing returned to France for GLORY 35: Nice. The world’s top kickboxing promotion returned to Europe after a successful event in Broomfield, Colo., just two weeks ago.

In the night’s main event, GLORY light heavyweight champion Artem Vakhitov met interim light heavyweight champion Zack Mwekassa in a unification bout. Vakhitov won the title with a dominant performance over Brazil’s Saulo Cavalari at GLORY 28. An injury to the champion derailed the initial meeting between Vakhitov and Mwekassa at GLORY 31 in June. Mwekassa took home the interim title after knocking out top-10 light heavyweight Mourad Bouzidi in the first round in Amsterdam.

Also on the night’s main card, heavyweights vied for the next shot at the GLORY world title in a one-night, four-man heavyweight contender tournament. Enfusion and Kunlun Fight heavyweight champion Jahfarr Wilnis returned to GLORY to compete for a crack at the world’s top heavyweight, Rico Verhoeven. Wilnis met FFC heavyweight kingpin Mladen Brestovac, the last man to knock him out. In the other leg of the tournament, Romania’s Benjamin Adegbuyi went up against top-10 heavyweight Hesdy Gerges.


The night’s SuperFight Series action was highlighted by top-10 lightweight Josh Jauncey, who took on Christian Baya.

The GLORY Super Fight Series aired live at 2 p.m. ET on UFC Fight Pass. GLORY 35 aired live at 5 p.m. ET on ESPN 3. The main card replays on ESPN 2 at 11 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 6.

Artem Vakhitov def. Zack Mwekassa by TKO (three-knockdown rule). Round 2, 2:23 – for light heavyweight title
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Mladen Brestovac by unanimous decision (30-27 x5) – heavyweight tournament final
Pavel Zhuravlev def. Zinedine Hameur-Lain by TKO (punches). Round 1, 1:58
Mladen Brestovac def. Jahfarr Wilnis by knockout (left head kick and punch). Round 1, 2:06 – heavyweight tournament semifinal
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Hesdy Gerges by unanimous decision (30-27 x5) – heavyweight tournament semifinal
Nicolas Wamba def. Nordine Mahieddine by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27 x4)
Karim Benmansour def. Eyevan Danenberg by split decision (29-28 x4, 28-29)
Amel Dehby def. Jiwaen Lee by unanimous decision (30-27 x5) – women’s super bantamweight tournament quarterfinal
Christian Baya def. Josh Jauncey by majority decision (29-27 x2, 30-27, 28-28 x2)
Petpanomrung Kiatmookao def. Stanislav Renita by unanimous decision (30-27 x5)
Cedric Castagna def. Vang Moua by unanimous decision (30-25 x4, 29-26)