Sam-A Gaiyanghadao (ONE Championship)

ONE Championship ‘Reign of Dynasties’ Results: Sam-A Easily Defends Title, McLaren Finishes Toivonen

On Friday, Oct. 9, ONE Championship returned to its home base of Singapore Indoor Stadium in Singapore. The event, dubbed ONE Championship: Reign of Dynasties, was headlined by the return of Sam-A Gaiyanghadao, who defended his ONE strawweight Muay Thai title against Josh Tonna.

Sam-A is already a living legend in Muay Thai, and he wants to add to his legacy. He made the first defense of the title he won in February when he thoroughly dominated Rocky Ogden at ONE’s King of the Jungle event to become the inaugural titleholder. The victory made him a two-sport champion in the organization where he also won the inaugural strawweight kickboxing strap in his previous fight in December.

His challenger, Josh Tonna, came to the fight on a high note. Tonna was riding the momentum of consecutive victories in which he impressed with his performance. The first of those wins came against Yoshihisha Morimoto via unanimous decision in July 2019. The next was a knockout victory over Muay Thai world champion Andy Howson. However, Tonna couldn’t claim the biggest win of his career against the Muay Thai legend.


The co-headliner of the evening was an MMA battle between flyweight standouts Reece McLaren and Aleksi Toivonen. This was an important fight for both fighters, as a win here could help take them one step closer to a title bid against flyweight kingpin Adriano Moraes. McLaren defended his high rank in the division and ended Toivonen’s unbeaten run as a mixed martial artist.

The event gets underway at 8:30 a.m. ET live on the ONE app and YouTube channel in select regions, while other international viewers can find broadcast details for their specific country here. American fight fans can view the show on the B/R Live streaming platform. The full results can be found below.

Muay Thai: Sam-A Gaiyanghadao def. Josh Tonna by TKO. Round 2, 2:30 – for strawweight title
Reece McLaren def. Aleksi Toivonen by knockout (knee to the body). Round 1, 4:18
Amir Khan def. Rahul Raju by knockout (strikes). Round 1, 4:47
Eko Roni Saputra def. Murugan Silvarajoo by submission (keylock). Round 1, 2:29
Getu Hexi def. Dejdamrong Sor Amnuaysirichoke by split decision
Roshan Mainam def. Peng Shuai Liu by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:27