Ilima-Lei Macfarlane (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

Bellator 201 Results: Macfarlane Submits Lara, Retains Flyweight Title

On Friday, June 29, Bellator MMA hosted its 201st event from the Pechanga Resort Casino in Temecula, Calif.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s flyweight queen, Ilima-Lei Macfarlane, put her title on the line for the first time against Colombia’s Alejandra Lara. The Hawaii native Macfarlane captured gold in November, running her record to 7-0 with a fifth-round armbar finish of Emily Ducote. Lara, meanwhile, made her promotional debut in December, submitting Lena Ovchynnikova to earn a shot at the title.

The night’s preliminary card streamed live at 7:30 p.m. ET on the promotion’s website. The main card followed on the Paramount Network at 9 p.m. ET.


Ilima-Lei Macfarlane def. Alejandra Lara by submission (armbar). Round 3, 3:55 – for women’s flyweight title
Saad Awad def. Ryan Couture by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:29
Valerie Letourneau def. Kristina Williams by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Juan Archuleta def. Robbie Peralta by knockout (punches). Round 3, 0:14
Jay Jay Wilson def. David Conte by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 0:59
Ed Ruth def. Andy Murad by TKO (punches). Round 2, 4:59
Joey Davis def. Craig Plaskett by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Tyrell Fortune def. Giovanni Sarran by TKO (punches). Round 2, 4:35
Keri Melendez def. Tiani Valle by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:46
Jordan Young def. Jamal Pogues by submission (triangle-armbar). Round 3, 3:15
Jacob Rosales def. Joshua Jones by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Ricky Furar def. Victor Rosas by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)