Buakaw Banchamek (Kunlun Fight/Kunlunjue Media)

Kunlun Fight 56 Results: Superbon Claims 64-Man Tournament Crown, Buakaw Cruises Past Xin

On Sunday, Jan. 1, Kunlun Fight debuted at the Mangrove Tree International Convention Center in Sanya, China for Kunlun Fight Kickboxing 56.

The 2016 64-man, 70-kilogram tournament champion was crowned when tournament semifinalists Davit Kiria, Jomthong Chuwattana, Superbon Bamchamek and Cedric Manhoef battled to become the third Kunlun Fight 70-kilogram tournament champion. In the semifinals, former multiple-time Rajadamnern stadium champion Jomthong took on former GLORY lightweight champion Kiria and 2015 semifinalist Superbon Banchamek fought Surinamese-Dutch prospect Cedric Manhoef.

In the evening’s main card action, the world’s most popular Muay Thai fighter, Buakaw Banchamek, returned against Chinese prospect and 2016 70-kilogram tournament quarter-finalist Tian Xin. Top-15 lightweight Mohamed Mezouari took on 2014 Kunlun Fight 70-kilogram tournament champion Dzianis Zuev. China’s Wu Xuesong met another tough challenger in Belorussian Muay Thai specialist Andrei Kulebin.


The event aired live at 12:30 a.m. ET on YY.com and the Kunlun Fight App.

Buakaw Banchamek def. Tian Xin by unanimous decision
Wei Ninghui def. Juan Javier Barragan by knockout (right hook). Round 1
Gu Hui def. Sergei Kuliaba by unanimous decision
Superbon Banchamek def. Jomthong Chuwattana by knockout (right cross). Round 3 – 70-kilogram tournament final
Andrei Kulebin def. Wu Xuesong by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-27)
Superbon Banchamek def. Cedric Manhoef by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-28, 30-27, 30-27) – 70-kilogram tournament semifinal
Jomthong Chuwattana def. Davit Kiria by extra round unanimous decison (10-9×5) – 70-kilogram tournament semifinal
Khayal Dzhaniev def. Arthit Hanchana by unanimous decision (30-28, 30-29, 30-27, 30-29, 30-28)
Mohamed Mezouari def. Dzianis Zuev by unanimous decision (29-26 x5)
Andrei Gerasimchuk def. Felipe Micheletti by unanimous decision (28-27 x3)
Wang Wenfeng def. Denis Puric by majority decision (29-29, 30-28, 29-28)
Parviz Abdullayev def. Ma Shuo by decision
Li Xiaomao def. Lin Zhiqiang by TKO (body punch). Round 1
Zhang Yansong def. Zhu Baotong by decision