Tony Ferguson (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 98 Results: Ferguson Too Much For Dos Anjos, Sanchez Tops Held

On Saturday, Nov. 5, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 98: Dos Anjos vs. Ferguson from the Mexico City Arena in Mexico City.

In the night’s main event, former lightweight champion Rafael dos Anjos looked to rebound from losing his belt as he took on hard-charging Ultimate Fighter winner Tony Ferguson. The Brazilian dos Anjos fell victim to a first-round TKO to current champion Eddie Alvarez in July. Prior to that, the 32-year-old had won five straight. Ferguson, meanwhile, had reeled off eight straight wins and had won 11 of his 12 Octagon appearances. “El Cucuy” had submitted four of his last five opponents, including his last two via D’arce choke.

The co-main event featured another former TUF winner, Diego Sanchez. The New Mexico-based fighter welcomed Polish submission ace Marcin Held to the promotion.


The 13-fight event kicked off Saturday with three bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 6:30 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts followed on Fox Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET, with the six-fight main card airing at 10 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Tony Ferguson def. Rafael dos Anjos by unanimous decision (48-47 x 3)
Diego Sanchez def. Marcin Held by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
Ricardo Lamas def. Charles Oliveira by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 2:13.
Martin Bravo def. Claudio Puelles by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 1:55 – TUF: Latin America 3 lightweight final
Beneil Dariush def. Rashid Magomedov by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Alexa Grasso def. Heather Jo Clark by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Erik Perez def. Felipe Arantes by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Joe Soto def. Marco Beltran by submission (heel hook). Round 1, 1:37
Max Griffin def. Erick Montaño by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 0:54
Douglas Silva de Andrade def. Henry Briones by TKO (spinning backfist). Round 3, 2:33
Sam Alvey def. Alex Nicholson by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Marco Polo Reyes def. Jason Novelli by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Enrique Barzola def. Chris Avila by unanimous decision (30-26 x 3)