Eduard Folayang (ONE Championship)

ONE Championship Defending Honor Results: Folayang Unseats Aoki, Garurov Retains

On Friday, Nov. 11, ONE Championship returned to the Singapore Indoor Stadium in Kallang, Singapore for ONE Championship: Defending Honor.

In the evening’s main event, ONE lightweight champion Shinya Aoki returned to the promotion for the first time in 18 months. The two-time defending champion put his title on the line against popular Filipino striker Eduard Folayang. The Team Lakay representative earned his shot at the title with back-to-back victories over Tetsuya Yamada and Adrian Pang. Aoki had yet to lose in his five fights since joining ONE Championship in 2012.

In the night’s co-headliner, ONE featherweight champ Marat Gafurov faced Narantungalag Jadambaa for the second time in less than a year. In the first meeting, the interim champion Gafurov stole the title from the champion after one of the best back-and-forth fights of 2015. Gafurov sunk in a fight-ending rear-naked choke in the fourth round to unify the featherweight titles and remain unbeaten in his MMA career.


The event aired live at 6:30 a.m. ET on

Eduard Folayang def. Shinya Aoki by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 0:41 – for lightweight title
Marat Gafurov def. Narantungalag Jadambaa by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 4:50 – for featherweight title
Amir Khan def. Samir Mrabet by submission (rear-naked-choke). Round 3, 2:22
Michelle Nicolini def. Mona Samir by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:16
Roger Huerta def. Adrian Pang by split decision
Kotetsu Boku def. Timofey Nastyukhin by TKO (injury). Round 1, 5:00
Tiffany Teo def. Walaa Abbas by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 4:15
Ahmed Mujtaba def. Benedict Ang by unanimous decision
Nico Soe def. Muhamad Haidar by submission (armbar). Round 1, 1:17