Josh Barnett (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 93 Results: Barnett Chokes Arlovski, Gustafsson Tops Blachowicz

On Saturday, Sept. 3, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 93: Arlovski vs. Barnett from the Barclaycard Arena in Hamburg, Germany.

In the night’s main event, former heavyweight titleholders Andrei Arlovski and Josh Barnett locked horns. The 37-year-old Arlovski looked to snap a two-fight skid. After reeling off six straight wins, the Belarusian had suffered back-to-back knockouts against current champion Stipe Miocic and No. 1 contender Alistair Overeem. Barnett, meanwhile, also aimed to right the ship after being submitted by Ben Rothwell in his last outing. The Pride and Strikeforce veteran had gone 2-2 in his four Octagon appearances since returning to the promotion in 2013.

The co-main event featured former light heavyweight title challenger Alexander Gustafsson against Jan Blachowicz. The towering Swede Gustafsson had dropped three of his last four fights, including decision losses to current champion Daniel Cormier and interim champion Jon Jones. Poland’s Blachowicz had split his four bouts with the promotion, most recent defeating Igor Pokrajac on the scorecards in April.


The 11-fight event kicked off Saturday with seven preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 11:45 a.m. ET. The four-fight main card followed at 3 p.m. ET, also on UFC Fight Pass.

Josh Barnett def. Andrei Arlovski by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 2:53
Alexander Gustafsson def. Jan Blachowicz by unanimous decision (30-27 x 3)
Ryan Bader def. Ilir Latifi by knockout (knee). Round 2, 2:06.
Nick Hein def. Tae Hyun Bang by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-28, 30-27)
Jessin Ayari def. Jim Wallhead by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
Peter Sobotta def. Nicolas Dalby by unanimous decision (30-26 x 3)
Ashlee Evans-Smith def. Veronica Macedo by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 2:46
Taylor Lapilus def. Leandro Issa by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Christian Colombo vs. Jarjis Danho ruled a majority draw (29-27, 28-28, 28-28)
Jack Hermansson def. Scott Askham by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Rustam Khabilov def. Leandro Silva by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)