Dricus du Plessis (EFC Worldwide)

EFC 40 Results: du Plessis Taps Bagattin, Asker Batters Potts

On Saturday, June 6, EFC Worldwide held its 40th event from Carnival City in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The event was headlined by a welterweight clash between former welterweight champion and EFC veteran Dino Bagattin and former middleweight contender Dricus du Plessis. The fight marked the welterweight debut for du Plessis.

Bagattin looked to assert himself back into title contention with his first fight inside the Hexagon for 2015. The former welterweight champion last competed at EFC 36 where he scored a second-round TKO victory over Gordon Roodman. Bagattin has been competing under the EFC banner since EFC 1.


Du Plessis headed into the fight with Bagattin eyeing his own shot at the welterweight champion. His only loss inside the Hexagon came at the hands of current UFC fighter Garreth McLellan when the pair met at EFC 33 with the EFC middleweight title on the line. Du Plessis bounced back from the loss with a first-round submission victory over Darren Daniel earlier this year.

In the co-main event, former EFC heavyweight champion Ruan Potts made his return to the promotion after a three-fight stint in the UFC. Potts met Frenchman Cyril Asker, who made his EFC debut at EFC 37 and earned a unanimous decision over Ricky Misholas.

EFC 40 kicked off Saturday with the preliminary card at 16:15 CAT.

Dricus du Plessis def. Dino Bagattin by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 3:33
Cyril Asker def. Ruan Potts by TKO. Round 1, (5:00)
Igeu Kabesa def. Peter Queally by split decision
Wade Groth def. Brendon Katz by unanimous decision
Daniel Henry def. Hanru Botha by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 1:58
Tomasz Kowalkowski def. Elvis Moyo by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 0:37
Marino Cutendana def. Nelson Feiteira by split decision
Wilhelm Strauss def. Steve Nwosu by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:39
Kanyeba Anicet def. Anthony Mailer by submission (verbal). Round 2, 4:10
Jason van der Merwe def. Bill Thusi by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:46
Pietie Coxen def. Gorilla Okosso by TKO (referee’s stoppage). Round 2, 1:26
Robert Simbowe def. Stefan Pretorius by submission (heel hook). Round 1, 4:52