Robin van Roosmalen (James Law/GLORY)

GLORY 20 Results: Van Roosmalen Retains, Varga Claims Belt, Marcus Wins Tournament

On Friday, April 3, GLORY hosted its 20th event from the Dubai World Trade Centre in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

In the night’s main event, lightweight champion Robin van Roosmalen looked to defend his belt against the hard-hitting Andy Ristie. The pair met previously at GLORY 12 in late 2013, with Ristie claiming the victory via second-round knockout. Since then, both fighters crossed paths with Davit Kiria, who knocked out Ristie to earn GLORY gold, but gave up the title when he was defeated by van Roosmalen in November.

The co-main event saw the promotion crown a featherweight champion as Canada’s Gabriel Varga took on Holland’s Mosab Amrani.


Rounding out the main card was the middleweight contender tournament which pitted Canadian Simon Marcus against American Wayne Barrett and Dutchman Jason Wilnis against Brazilian Alex Pereira. The winner earned a title shot against current champion Artem Levin.

The night’s main card airs on Spike TV on Friday at 10 p.m. ET. The night’s Superfight Series fights will air on the CBS  Sports Network on Saturday, April 4 at 8 p.m. ET.

Robin van Roosmalen def. Andy Ristie by unanimous decision (49-44 x3) – for lightweight title
Simon Marcus def. Jason Wilnis by split decision (28-30, 30-27, 29-28) – middleweight tournament final
Gabriel Varga def. Mosab Amrani by unanimous decision (50-46, 48-47, 49-46) – for featherweight title
Jason Wilnis def. Alex Pereira by unanimous decision (28-27, 28-27, 29-28) – middleweight tournament semifinal
Simon Marcus def. Wayne Barrett by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27) – middleweight tournament semifinal
Saulo Cavalari def. Artem Vakhitov by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)
Mourad Bouzidi def. Dustin Jacoby by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Chi Lewis-Parry def. Yong-Soo Park by knockout (punches). Round 1, 0:25
Samir Boukhidous def. Mikhail Chalykh by knockout (punches). Round 1, 2:00
Chad Sugden def. Atakan Arslan by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Anatoly Moiseev def. Max Baumert by knockout (head kick). Round 1, 0:38