On Friday, Jan. 13, Absolute Championship Berkut makes the promotion’s North American debut as it hosts the 51st event from the Bren Events Center in Irvine, California, ACB 51: Silva vs. Torgeson.

In the night’s main event, UFC veteran Thiago Silva took on Jared Torgeson for the promotion’s light heavyweight title. The 34-year-old Silva had split his four bouts since being released from the UFC, but entered the contest having won back-to-back fights. The bout will be Torgeson’s 35th professional outing. The American has won three straight leading into the title match-up.

In the evening’s main card action, newly signed veterans Luis Palomino and Pat Healy made their promotional debuts against former M-1 champion Musa Khamanaev and former UFC lightweight Leandro “Buscapé” Silva respectively.

The event aired live at 10 p.m. ET on Youtube.

Thiago Silva def. Jared Torgeson by unanimous decision – for light heavyweight title
Luis Palomino def. Musa Khamanaev by TKO (punches). Round 2
Christos Giagos def. Alexandre Pimentel by unanimous decision
Leandro Silva def. Pat Healy by knockout (right hand and punches). Round 1
Mike Kyle def. Tim Hague by knockout (right hook and punches). Round 1
Shamil Gamzatov def. Rodney Wallace by split decision
Arthur Estrázulas def. Dave Courchaine by knockout (punches). Round 1
Guillermo Martinez def. AymeIvan Castillo by unanimous decision
Terrion Ware def. Nick Mamalis by unanimous decision
Kyle Reyes def. Mario Israel by majority decision
Danny Martinez def. Cory Alexander by unanimous decision

About The Author

Zach Aittama
Senior Staff Writer

Zach Aittama became a fan of martial arts at an early age. Hooked on the sport after one experience, Zach started training Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai as a teenager. Watching the sport only increased his interest, building a fascination for combat sports around the globe. Years of training and amateur bouts later, Zach continues to train while working and attending school full-time. Zach started writing for Fight Sport Asia in 2014 and joined the Combat Press staff in July of 2015.

Related Posts