On Friday, Aug. 22, Resurrection Fighting Alliance held its 17th event. The promotion hosted the first sanctioned MMA event in South Dakota when it visited the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls.

The night’s top billing was a lightweight title affair between longtime RFA veteran Dakota Cochrane and California’s Christos Giagos. Cochrane rode a two-fight winning streak, having bested Ultimate Fighter winner Efrain Escudero at RFA 13 in March before knocking out UFC veteran Anton Kuivanen in just 48 seconds in June. Giagos, meanwhile, rode a three-fight streak of his own, with all three victories coming before the final bell. The Tachi Palace veteran had scored a stoppage in seven of his nine career wins, including five via knockout.

In the night’s co-main event, the promotion’s 145-pound title was on the line when UFC veteran Justin Lawrence took on Mark Dickman. Lawrence had competed just once since his UFC release, topping Luis Saldana at RFA 10 via decision. Dickman rode a four-fight winning streak, including a second-round submission win over Raoni Barcelos at RFA 14 in April.

Also on the main card, Luke Sanders made his bantamweight debut against Darrick Minner, middleweight Francisco “Kiko” France took on Isaac Appel, welterweights Donavon Winters and Jordon Larson squared off, and, in the first main-card bout, Cory Galloway faced off with Brazil’s Bruno Frazatto at bantamweight.

The six-fight main card aired live on AXS TV beginning at 10 p.m. ET.

Christos Giagos def. Dakota Cochrane by knockout (flying knee). Round 2, 2:04 – for lightweight title
Justin Lawrence def. Mark Dickman by unanimous decision (50-45, 49-46, 50-45) – for featherweight title
Luke Sanders def. Darrick Minner by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:15 – bantamweight No. 1 contender’s bout
Francisco “Kiko” France def. Isaac Appel by submission (kimura). Round 1, 3:46
Jordon Larson def. Donavon Winters by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Bruno Frazatto def. Cory Galloway by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 1:32
Doug Jenkins def. Danny White by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:33
Clay Wimmer def. Devin Turner by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 3:00
Devin Clark def. Aaron Brown by TKO (punches). Round 2, 4:02
Te Edwards def. Bryce Logan by knockout (punch). Round 1, 0:33
Logan McPadden def. Michael Messer by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:45 (a)
Alan Sehr def. Apollo Swanson by submission (d’arce choke). Round 2, 2:16 (a)

(a) – denotes amateur contest

About The Author

Rob Tatum
Assistant Editor

Rob Tatum has been covering combat sports since 2009. He provides radio content for Between Rounds Radio and his past work has appeared on Bleacher Report, MMA DieHards, MMAinterviews and The MMA Corner. Prior to covering combat sports, Rob ran his own music website from 2002-2009. Beyond his writing, Rob has trained in both Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai. He is a Colorado native that works as a mechanical engineer during the day. In his free time, Rob enjoys watching sports, playing music and working on cars.

Related Posts